If you have celiac disease or dietary sensitivities, you’re probably always looking for gluten-free food options. When looking at a Starbucks menu, you might wonder if their egg bites are gluten-free.
Starbucks egg bites are gluten-free as they are made using rice starch. However, there is the potential for cross-contamination, so individuals with celiac disease should be cautious.
This article will teach you everything you need to know about Starbucks egg bites and gluten so you can decide if they are a good option for your dietary needs.
Table of Contents
What is Gluten?
With gluten-free food options rising in popularity, everyone is talking about gluten. You first need to understand what gluten is to determine how to best avoid it if necessary.
Gluten is a protein in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale products. Most people associate gluten with being in bread or pasta, but it’s in far more products than just bread or pasta.
You can find gluten in many unexpected items like:
- Salad dressings
And that list is just beginning to scratch the surface of all the foods that contain gluten.
The best way to check if something has gluten is to read the label or packaging. Also, gluten-free items will usually advertise on the front of the package.
Who Needs Gluten-Free Food?
So why do people eliminate gluten from their diet? There are several potential health-related reasons someone may want to avoid gluten.
Individuals with celiac disease have an immune response any time they eat gluten. This immune response occurs in their small intestines and can cause many uncomfortable symptoms.
Some common symptoms of celiac disease include:
- Weight loss
- Bloating, gas, and abdominal pain
- Nausea and vomiting
Because these symptoms will occur when consuming gluten, individuals with celiac disease must avoid gluten altogether.
On the other hand, some individuals are gluten sensitive. This means their body reacts poorly when they digest gluten. They may intentionally choose to consume less of it because they feel better.
What is Starbucks Egg Bites Made Out of?
To determine if Starbucks egg bites are gluten-free, let’s take a deep dive into the ingredient list.
Starbucks egg bites have the following ingredients in them:
- Egg whites
- Monterey Jack cheese
- Red bell peppers
- Rice starch
- Unsalted butter
- Feta cheese
- Green onion
- Hot Sauce
- Canola oil
None of these ingredients contain gluten. They have another flavor of egg bites containing bacon, but it is also gluten-free.
This means that Starbucks egg bites are one of the few gluten-free food options available at Starbucks.
Risk of Cross-Contamination at Starbucks
While the Starbucks egg bites do not contain gluten, you may still be at risk of cross-contamination.
As we mentioned, many of the baked goods at Starbucks do contain gluten. These items are usually handled with a pair of tongs by the baristas.
Unless you specifically ask your barista to use the allergen-free tongs, you could risk being exposed to gluten when they handle your egg bites.
While the risk of cross-contamination is generally low, individuals with celiac disease may want to be particularly vigilant. Clear communication with your barista can help to minimize this risk.
Starbucks egg bites are gluten-free because they use rice starch instead of wheat, rye, or barley. The remaining ingredients in the egg bites also do not have any gluten in them.
Individuals who may want to opt for gluten-free options at Starbucks include those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Egg bites are generally one of the few gluten-free options currently available at Starbucks.
Even though the Starbucks egg bites do not contain gluten, you could still be at risk of cross-contamination. Ask your barista to be mindful and use clean tongs to minimize this risk when handling your egg bites.
If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, egg bites can be your new go-to food item at Starbucks. Besides being gluten-free, they’re also tasty and high in protein, making them a satiating snack.